After a long wait for nearly a month, the Sri Lankan team will be in action against Zimbabwe for 3 ODI this month which is to be played in Pallekele from Sunday. The first ODI is scheduled to start from 16th January, the second on 18 and the last will be played in the same venue on 21st January. The Sri Lankan team won’t have the service of Bhanuka who just retired from all formats of the game. Dhanajaya de silva will miss the series due to paternity leave and Avishka Fernando will miss after being tested positive for covid. The Great surprise for the fans is the missing name of W.Hasranga the no.1 Bowler who has been rested for the series against Zimbabwe.

Sri Lanka squad: Squad: Dasun Shanaka (c), Pathum Nissanka, Minod Bhanuka, Charith Asalanka, Maheesh Theekshana, Chamika Karunaratne, Jeffrey Vandersay, Nuwan Thushara, Ramesh Mendis, Praveen Jayawickrama, Dushmantha Chameera, Chamika Gunasekera, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Mendis, Nuwan Pradeep, Shiran Fernando, Kamindu Mendis.
Standby players: Ashen Bandara, Pulina Tharanga, Nimesh Vimukthi, Ashian Daniel, Asitha Fernando, Vishwa Fernando have been named as standby players .