Less than 40 days to go for the T20 world cup 2021, every team is started announcing their squads for the mega event. If twitter sources to be believed, Sri lankan squad has been revealed for T20 World Cup.

Lasith Malinga is not picked in the squad, who yet to retire in this format. Fitness concerns may be the reason to leave him from the squad.

Check out Why Jay Shah trolled in the Twitter

Sri Lanka squad for the T20 WC 2021: 

Kusal Perera, Avishka Fernando, Banuka Rajapaksha, Dananjaya de Silva(VC), Dasun Shanaka (C), Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Mahesh Theekshana, Dinesh Chandimal(WK), Kamindu Mendis, P Jayawickrama, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Pradeep,Lahiru Madushanka


Pulina Tharanga, Lahiru Kumara, Binura Feranando, Akila Dananjaya.

Interestingly, Akila Dananjaya has been demoted to travelling reserves, Binura Fernando also demoted as travel reserve.

Shanaka continues as Sri Lanka’s captain, Dinesh Chanidimal was taken into the squad, who was not featured for the team regularly in recent times. As a surprise package, Young Mahesh Theekshana, who was regarded as a carbon copy of Ajantha Mendis included in the squad.

By seeing the squad fan reacted by tweeting “History created by sri lanka by not changing the captain after 2 series”

And fans raised the question “Why Malinga is not included?”