The second One-Day International (ODI) between India and South Africa is underway at Paarl’s Boland Park. Indian skipper KL Rahul chose to bat first after winning the toss, and both openers got off to a good start, putting on a 63-run partnership in 11.4 overs. India, on the other hand, lost two wickets in a row in the middle when Shikhar Dhawan (29 off 38 balls) was caught by Magala off Markram and Virat Kohli was out for a duck. Then came wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant, who along with skipper KL Rahul, began to rebuild the Indian innings. Both players started out carefully, pushing balls for one-twos in the gap. 

But on the last ball of the fifteenth over of the innings, Pant pushed a ball to the leg side and called Rahul for a run. But after a few steps, Pant stopped, but Rahul was already near the striker’s end. It was a complete misjudgement between the two and one that would have cost India the wicket. But luckily, Maharaj was not able to collect the throw from Temba Bavuma and Rahul was finally back at the non-striker’s end.  

KL Rahul looked unhappy with the call from Pant, and Pant also apologised to Rahul.